Certified Copy Of Degree (Applying for Masters program at TUM)

19 posts in this topic

Hi,

Im applying for a Master's program at the TUM.

On the application form, it says I must enclose a certified copy of my Degree. 
I studied in the US. 

In the US, certified transcripts means you received your degree.

Ive went to the embassy; they dont "certify" copies. Notaries are of no help. 

How have other Americans or other foreigners gotten around this when their university does not give out certified copies of your degree?

Thank you!  

Thats odd that the embassy won't do it.  

When i did it, i copied them and had a professional engineer "certify" it with their stamp, signature and a little line saying that they've seen the original and the copy matches it.  I suppose any legally protected profession would do, i.e. someone with a stamp, a doctor, a lawyer, etc , but I can't say.  This worked way back in 2002, I'm not sure about these days.  Use any connections you have to go this route.  

What you are looking for is a "Bestätigung".   There was one other time I got one, last year, and that was from a city official and it took me about 2 hours of standing in his office doorway and not going away, arguing that i only needed his stamp, not a full notary (which he was trying to direct me to).   The "don't leave until you get your way" stand-off with civil servants definitely works but can't be quite awkward.  Make sure you've had at least two cups of coffee, but are well rested, have an empty bladder and a full breakfast if you go that route. 

Other than that i think the best thing for a more reasonable person to do, is call TUM and ask them how they defined "certified" and what they recommend. 

16 hours ago, ElizabethJT said:

Im applying for a Master's program at the TUM.

Through uni-assist? Or directly? 

13 hours ago, Joanie said: