Jobs in Bremen

11 posts in this topic

Moin moin

I moved to Bremen from Scotland a few months ago and now it is time for me to start looking for a job. Has anyone had any experience with jobs where speaking German isn't an absolute necessity at the beginning? Or know of an agency that can help? I've been taking a German class since I got here, so I'm getting the hang of the language, but it's still a pretty daunting thought. I've got 5 years of accounts/office experience

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Vielen Dank

49 minutes ago, HayleyK said:

I moved to Bremen from Scotland a few months ago

How long have you been here? Do you have German health insurance?

Many EU citizens moving to Germany don't realise that in order to take advantage of their Freedom of Movement rights as an EU citizen that they need to also comply with local requirements for residents  (if you have a spouse with public health insurance in Germany and don't have much of an income, you're probably insured through your spouse).

49 minutes ago, HayleyK said:

Has anyone had any experience with jobs where speaking German isn't an absolute necessity at the beginning? Or know of an agency that can help? I've been taking a German class since I got here, so I'm getting the hang of the language, but it's still a pretty daunting thought. I've got 5 years of accounts/office experience

If you can follow simple instructions in German, try the temp agencies such as Manpower, Olympia, ZAG, etc. Once you reach about C1/C2 German you can also try EuroLondon for multilingual office jobs.

I've said this before but if you have any sort of tourism in your city then hit up the local tourist office.

They may know of someone who needs or may need someone themselves as an English speaking tour guide.

I'm from Glasgow and now starting my 3rd season as an English speaking guide (self employed) in Bayern and my German still needs a lot of work.