Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Hospitation at Klinikum Großhadern

7 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I am a medical student, currently in my 5th year and I just got accepted to make a non-paid practice at Klinikum Großhadern this summer. The Klinikum's secretary referred at it as "Hospitation". Could anybody please tell me, what does a hospitant do? Will I do stuff (e.g. take blood), or I will just observe? Also, when I sent my practice application, I mentioned that after I finish Uni, I am interested in working in Germany. Could this be an accommodation/adaptation period? 

Thank you! :)

hospitation is a praktikum for doctors. if i remember well, formally you are not allowed to do medical acts and you should only observe and do things under the direct supervision of a doctor. In practice, a lot depends on what the klinik and the people there are like. some kliniks are relaxed about that and if they see you have experience, they will let yu exercise more initiative. others wont. On the first day you will be told what to expect. in any case, all that is unofficial, medical acts are performed by fully approbiert doctors who also have the responsibility for them. Some patients feel uneasywhen a student performs something on them.

Many hospitals provide free accommodation in a dormitory for the duration of the hospitation.

Having done a hspitation will distinguish you from other foreign applicants who havent. however german graduates spend the last year of their studies doing a structured praktisches jahr. so u wont be on par with them.

It certainly cannot harm. Putting this alone in your resume will bring you ahead of students who spent their summer on the beach, assuming similar grades/skills. Plus - you will likely get free (or symbolic-price accommodation) for the duration of your stay - so a chance to live  in Munich, get a taste of it, see if you'd like it (in a day-to-day life as opposed to a holiday when everything is rosy).