Forced to take German lessons for Arbeitlosengeld

82 posts in this topic

I am an EU citizen and have been on Arbeitlosengeld for only 7 weeks. Today I had a meeting at the Arbeit for Agentur and was told I must decide in that moment with no advice or unable to speak with my German partner that if I want to continue Arbeitlosengeld I must take a German course that starts tomorrow or leave the country if I leave the country they will pay for 3 more months in another EU country. If I want to remain in the country to look for work but not take the German course then I cannot collect arbeitlosengeld any further. Is this legal??? I dont mind learning German but with not being told anything before my meeting and told I must decide that second and that those are my choices I feel what they did can not legally be right. I tried to argue with them as I speak basic German but the the gentleman said he is the Chef, he decides. I am a Chef/Cook and worked for the last 2 years in Germany. Again, learning German is not the problem, the guy said the course starts tomorrow and if I dont take it they cancel my assistance. Anyone know what I can do? If I spoke German then I can sit on my **** and collect. It is so frustrating. Thanks for any help!

Learning german would be an added qualification. Together with your cooking experience, you would stand a better chance in finding a job 'in germany' so why the resistance.

I understand, maybe you had some other plans, but maybe your german partner was not able to convey the same to the bureaucrats. Many courses start on a fixed date and probably the next cousrse is 3-6 months away and so the bureaucrat felt that you would be sitting idle for this period and so you better be productive.

As Gwaptiva said - enjoy your course.

...not being told anything before my meeting and told I must decide that second... if I dont take it they cancel my assistance.