Is it illegal to download PDF books from internet?

13 posts in this topic

some books are not easy to find in the market or expensive. and internet is full of website offering thousands of books. some of them saying it is for free and legal but dont wanna face problems later. please whoever has an idea about that please help.

some of them saying it is for free and legal but dont wanna face problems later.

Then don't do it..

I'm not a lawyer but if a book is out of copyright it should be ok? For example, James Joyce's work is out of copyright for the past couple of years.

Smaug, the link is not working. but do you think downloading from other websites, other than Torrents I mean, is ok? 

Smaug, the link is not working. but do you think downloading from other websites, other than Torrents I mean, is ok? 

​It is not ok. what is said is that you might not get into troubles, which is different.

Copyrighted material is properietary, therefore means that the usage, copy, reproduction etc is protected and the owner/writer/publisher should get the respective reward for the work.

What I understand by smaug's post is that if you do it, at least don't share it (like torrents do)

That link appears to have become circular due to the recent major TT software update. However the thread Smaug recommended,  Accused of torrenting copyrighted material , is still pinned at the top of the Legal forum. There are over 2000 posts in that thread scores of which cover your concerns but, since the new TT software doesn't include the old-style 'topic search' feature, I'm not sure how best to point you at a specific post. Perhaps you could try putting "Accused of torrenting copyrighted material"+book in the site search box.