Tax return after leaving Germany

10 posts in this topic

Hello, I've read many forum topics about this already but think I still need some advice about filing my German tax return. I will have to do my tax return because the tax office already chased me for 2013 :) I filed it in October last year and received the money a few weeks ago. But 2013 isn't the problem because I was a resident in Germany during the whole year.

So the situation is as following:

I have worked in Munich from February 2012 until February 2014. Tax returns are done for 2012 and 2013.

I left Germany already in December 2013 to move to Asia. My contract ended in February 2014 because I had about 6 weeks of holidays left in 2013 and didn't want to get it paid out and took a break in between jobs. I moved for the same company but took a local contract in the new country and not as an expat.

Before I left I made sure to deregister at the KVR in December. In January I still got paid a month salary in tax klasse 1, in February I received my bonus and a lump sump amount for moving costs in tax klasse 6. I received 2 different Lohnsteuerbescheinigungen for this.

My question is: Do I still fill out the normal annex N? Eventhough I wasn't living in Germany while I got those payments in 2014?

Does it even make a difference that I didn't live in Germany in 2014?

And do I have to enter my income in Asia on the tax return?

Hope someone can help me out here :)

Officially, you would have to go through the whole procedure as a non-resident, i.e. as someone with limited tax liability, which would only complicate things unnecessarily.

Since there is no connection between the KVR and the Finanzamt, I suggest that you simply do the normal tax return, i.e. pretend that you were resident for a few days in 2014:

• Mantelbogen ESt1A:
    line 13: where it says Wohnort, fill in your new city together with the country, e.g. Tokyo, Japan.