How long did it take you to learn German and what level did you reach?

352 posts in this topic

I was once told that to learn English it would take three days, to learn French thirty days, but to learn German it would take thirty years! So how long did it take for you to be able to hold a conversation in German?

Mark Twain said "Life is too short to learn German", and I am beginning to see what he means!

It took me roughly four to six years and a hell of alot of listening and trying. But, to anyone who is planning on staying a while, it's worth it!

It took me roughly four to six years too. I've been here 29 years and still don't get the der, die and das.

I had German lessons at school for two years and came out after that with one sentence 'Ingrid und Ich decken den Tisch'. Plus I knew the song 'Mein Hut der hat drei Ecken' by heart. It was 20 years later that I met the first Ingrid.

I did a degree in German and before I came to Bremen for my placement year in 1998 I really thought I was confident in speaking German. Two weeks into term I realised how wrong I was. Classroom German and living in the country are two different worlds for me.

I have now been living in Frankfurt for four years and I think my German has improved more in those 4 years than on the 4 years of my degree. I am still learning new things every day but am also sure I will never be perfect.

Only been here a year so still battling through my German lessons into the past participles now. I can get by out and about but I probably sound like Ali G. Do I care? Do I heck as like! As long as I achieve the objective I don't worry, I try and that's the main thing. I used to work in the Middle East and I swear Arabic is easier, though not to write obviously!

After 30 years here there's only the thick farmers sod from a Bavarian Alpenhof who can still mindboggle me, but getting there was bloody hard at the beginning.