Being sized up for income/assets when dating

41 posts in this topic

I’ve been attempting to date German men. (Mistake #1 perhaps) As soon as things start to get serious the fact that I work in the public sector comes up (100%, unlimited contract, uni job), and I’m told disparagingly that I’ll “never earn any more money.” Which is actually not true. The underlying assumption seems to be that I’m just a lazy, money-grubbing foreigner who earns bupkiss. And I even work on the side on top of my regular job and am writing a PhD.

What gives? Are these guys just uninformed, or am I fooling myself that 55,000 euros is a decent salary?

It seems to be a good way to weed out those who I’d rather not waste my time with, but still frustrating…

There can be plenty of reasons why things go south, but I keep hearing this and can't figure it out. Any thoughts?

You're better off without those tools.

Just to add, I do think that some men may be more cautious about starting a relationship with someone from another country. But the general consensus on Toytown is that Germans are a strange people to date (not that they actually "date" in the American tradition). Good luck and don't worry.

Might be that they just wanted to be helpful by pointing out to a stranger that working in public sector is generally not beeing regarded as a high income great career opportunities job. This is something I find quite typical that people try to be "helpful" by bluntly giving such uninvited "tips".

There's a guy in our walking group who is trying to find a girlfriend, too. He's German and is trying to date German women. He says that when the women find out that he works for the railways (in an office, freight trains), they think he can't earn much. Then he tells them what he earns and they are interested in him again, but he doesn't care for them any more.