Where to Rent in Nuremberg? Best sites to check.

6 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm new to Germany, currently living in a hotel in Nuremberg. I'm looking to rent a flat or house, 2-3 bedrooms (preferably 3 bedroom) within the next month or so. I'd like to live in Zerzabelhof or a similar, nice neighborhood. I've already driven through and looked at Zerzabelhof and it's a beautiful area and seems like a great family environment. Are there any other suggestions? What are good websites, resources to check? Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

You can try Mitwohnzentrale Franken website, but they charge a bomb in provision fees - though they speak English and are relatively helpful.

Thanks, I'll check it out. I'd rather not have to pay any brokers/realtors/finder's fees if I don't have to.

Hi, and welcome to TT. :)

If you haven't yet, please read this TT Wiki page on renting in Germany. It's probably quite a bit different from what you're used to, so it's best to be aware of the pitfalls ahead. The page gives general info, tips on where to look for ads, and vocabulary help to understand German ads. And yes, unfurnished apartments here really are *empty*, including without a kitchen and without light fittings. Look for ads mentioning an EBK (Einbauküche = fitted kitchen) to avoid having to buy a kitchen yourself.

Be aware that there are - unfortunately - scammers operating on all accommodation sites, who will offer you an amazing flat at an unbelievably cheap price. If it sounds too good to be true, then it usually is just that. See the threads Beware of accommodation scams and Apartment rental scam suspected for some hallmarks of scam accommodation adverts.