Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Treatment for Parkinson's Disease

15 posts in this topic

i am new in munich and i have come with a scholarship from max planck institute. i will be in munich for nine months. my father is suffering from parkinson's. he is bed ridden. he is in india. i feel terribly helpless for him. no medicine is working for him.i will like to know if there is any medication for parkinson's available in germany . if any one knows about any doctor who treats parkinson's and with whom i can discuss about my father's treatment., please let me know . i will appreciate

If I remember I will check our listing directory at the office tommorrow, and ask one my secretaries about it. And let you know.

My PhD was related to Parkinson's Disease so I have some understanding of the horror of watching a loved one slowly lock up, trapped inside this disease. You, your father and your other relatives have my profound sympathy.

Has your father received any treatment so far? The traditional treatment for many years has been L-dopa but it comes with complications over sustained treatment. More recentz dopamine agonist therapies have some of the same drawbacks but work better for some people. There are also Acetylcholine blockers that appear to have a positive effect on tremor symptoms.

Surgically some promising results have been found with chronically implanted electrodes that seem to switch off parkinsonian symptoms. I believe such surgery is available in the UK and USA but not sure where else.

There is also the potential for stem cell therapy but that is a long way off.

I found this from a web page www.kompetenznetz-parkinsons.de

Regionalzentrum MÜNCHEN MPI

Max-Planck-Institut für Psychiatrie

-Neurologie-

Kraepelinstr. 10

80804 München

Leiter des Regionalzentrums

PD Dr. med. Frank Weber

Tel: 089-30622-463 oder -473

Fax: 089-30622-562

E-mail: fweber@mpipsykl.mpg.de

Rolle der Institution im Kompetenznetz

Hi