Paragliding sites around Munich?

15 posts in this topic

I'm moving to Munich (Maxvorstadt) this week and am looking to get acquainted with fellow paragliders and to get to know about nice flying sites. I have had my PP4-level license since last summer and am continuously working on my skills. I am an independent pilot, but would like to get to know new sites together with other pilots.

I did my license in Tirol, but would like to try sites within ~1h drive from Munich. I have a car, so I can also offer a ride to the sites :) Since I will start my new job soon I will only be available for paragliding on weekends and national holidays - office hours and paragliding are not the best of buddies unfortunately :rolleyes:

If you want to know anything more about me, just send PM. Looking forward to hearing from you!

They seem not only to be in the mountains - last week (Monday 16th June) as I was flying Westwards in my glider/sailplane in the vicinity of Eichstätt (that is in Bavaria) I saw this paraglider suspended under the middle of a large cloud - I was under the edge of that cloud at about 2500 m NN & this guy was higher.

Freezing level was 2400 m NN!

You might want to contact this user on TT.

I know there is a centre on Brauneck in Lenggries and I see gliders flying around a lot there when visiting inlaws weekend.

Good luck. I haven't flown for 20 years but loved it back then. Not allowed by my kids anymore.

The OP isn't looking for gliders, rather paragliding (known to us as "Teebeutel").

Gliders is like wot I fly (best flying hols ever this year: 5 flights, 28 hours, 1850 kms, best was 482 kms).

Sory, I was abbreviating. I meant paragliders!

Hi there,

Have a look at my brother's webpage. www.rauteralex.com