Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Moving to Rhein-Main area

14 posts in this topic

Hi,

I’m a Spanish engineer that has to move to Rhein-Main area this summer.

I’m gonna work in Rüsselsheim but I prefer living in Frankfurt or Wiesbaden.

I have been checking areas to live and I got a mess.

My first option is Frankfurt, I’m coming from Barcelona so I think the only place which could me make feel similar (bridging the gap) is Frankfurt. Looking at the forum I’m always seeing Bornheim, Westend-Sud, Bockenheim, Sachsenhausen but they are really expensive. To give you an example I’m living in Sants which is a district that nobody would suggest to live nevertheless I love it!.

So I’m looking for a place where keeps a relation between price and nice area with good car communication, gyms and services around, access to jogging areas…How about Gallus or Niederrad…? I found better prices there (still more expensive than Wiesbaden) but nobody suggest them as good areas. I read that Gallus is being a nicer area day-by-day due to new residential/shopping centres build up.

On the other hand Wiesbaden seems much cheaper, but I’m afraid I will be a bit bored. I’m single, 27 years-old, non-german speaker (yet), keen to do stuff!

Thanks!

And nice to meet you in advance!

I like Wiesbaden more, and It is closer than Frankfurt (closer to Russelsheim). When I arrived in this part of Germany after changing jobs (lived near Leipzig -east Germany- before) I lived 2 months in a holiday accommodation (Ferienwohnung) before deciding where to move, because I wanted to see the places first and make an informed decision. I also didn't want to pay Kaution before earning 1-2 salaries and wanted to observe the neighbourhood & the workplace conditions. You can try this option, if it is convenient for you. When living in Wiesbaden u can visit Frankfurt anytime, it's about 30 minutes by train. So, give Wiesbaden a chance too :)

Hi,

Thanks for the response.