English-speaking jobs In the Nuremberg area

26 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am a native speaker from the UK and I am currently trying to find part time employment in the Nuremberg area. Unfortunately my German skills are not great and this is why I am moving over - to undertake an integration course.

I want to move over to be with my partner who lives in Fuerth.

I have a degree in International Relations, and have no experience working with Children which I fear will really affect my chances of employment in a bilingual Kindergarten.

I have just completed a TEFL course to help me find English teaching work.

Any suggestions/ advice would be really appreciated!

How well do you speak German and what formal qualifications do you have? Do you have an EU 27 passport or will you need to apply for a work permit?

Hi engelchen, I haven't had any formal lessons in German..I have picked up a little bit of vocab over the past year as I have been visiting Nuremberg a lot, but my language skills are still very poor.

My formal qualifications are my degree in International Relations and TEFL. I'm pretty sure my degree is going to be of no help to me finding work in Nuremberg. I have applied to a few Language schools however I have currently have not heard anything back. I am really at a loss of what to do next..

My best advice to anyone planning to move here, outside of researching the visa requirements for your individual situation, is....LEARN THE LANGUAGE! And learn as much as you can before you come here. I'm not meaning this in a rude way at all. It is the absolute BEST way to open as many doors for you as possible, and will also help you feel more integrated and settled.