Where to pay tax on German pension received in UK

77 posts in this topic

I am a British national and resident in the UK since 1982. Since 2011 I receive a German state pension as a former guest worker in West Germany. The pension is paid monthly by Deutsche Post Renten Service into my UK bank account in pounds sterling.

Back in 2011, soon after the first pension payment was received, I was informed that the (then valid) Double Taxation Agreement between Germany and the UK meant I would only pay tax on it in the UK, which I have been doing.

However, I became aware today of recent changes to the Double Taxation Agreement, which imply that I may in future have to pay tax on the German pension to the German Finanzamt, instead of to HMRC.

Can anyone please clarify what these changes mean? I've tried to understand the various websites, but all are couched in typical legalese, which is a minefield to navigate.

Have you by any chance received a letter from the Finanzamt in Neubrandenburg asking you to submit a German tax return?

Anyway, whoever told you in 2011 to tax that German pension in the UK hadn't realised that a new double taxation agreement between Germany and the UK came into force on 30th March 2010.

If it was HMRC, well their web site wasn't up to date for the longest time, they still had the old version of the double taxation agreement online right up to January 2013.

According to this new agreement, you have to tax your pension (stemming from your social security contributions back when you were working in Germany) in Germany.

At the moment, even HRMC use the new, correct version on their web site, see here:

• "German social security pensions are taxable only in Germany and are not taxable in the United Kingdom."

You can find the relevant regulation in legalese in article 17, subsection 2 of the double taxation agreement between Germany and the UK: