Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Jobs for American around Bayreuth

7 posts in this topic

I have a BA and an MA but I don't speak German. I currently work as a high school teacher in the US. There's someone I want to be with in Bayreuth, so I'm looking around for any possible work to sustain living in Germany. Can anyone here point me in some direction? Is the job search any easier in the country? I've found some postings at a nearby military base but most (if not all) seem to be open to dependents only. Am I hopeless?

What did you study? You'll need C1/C2 German to teach in public schools (see this thread for more info).

Without knowing German, your only options to teach are as a freelance English teacher (see this thread) or at an international school.

Hi and welcome to TT.

You write that "there's someone I want to be with in Bayreuth". Unless this someone is a German fiancé and you're moving here to get married, you will unfortunately have to overcome quite a few hurdles on your way to getting a work permit and a residence permit. More info on those on this TT Wiki page.

And no, without German language skills, the job search will not get any easier, even if you're in-country. Should you decide to make the move, make sure you budget enough to have at least 3-4 months worth of living costs set aside, plus money for health insurance (see this TT Wiki page for more info on that topic).

Thanks for the quick replies. My undergraduate degree was in History and Education and my MA was in Middle East Studies. There seem to be a few jobs open until 12/31 on USA jobs but they say