Using Deutsche Bank debit card on Amazon.de

12 posts in this topic

Hello, :)

First of all, I am not familiar with this forum's functions. So I beg your pardon. I may not have correctly specified the "subtitle", so you can change it if it's inappropriate.

OK, I am an international student; I have an Deutsche Bank blocked account. I have a debit card for this account, and I want to use it for shopping on Amazon.de.

I tried to use my Deutsche Bank account to purchase something on Amazon but I can't. They send me an e-mail which says they can't accept my debit card and so on.

How can I make my debit card work on Amazon.de? Do I have to contact Deutsche bank?

And what are the other cash payment options that I can use on Amazon? There are Amazon gift cards. But I don't know here I can purchase Amazon gift cards in Germany :(

Many many thanks :)

Do you also have it as a visa or mastercard? if it is just a debit card from a bank and not accepted as a credit card, you might be out of luck. Maybe you can get a prepaid card? Do they have them in DE?

If this is a Sperrkonto, it's a savings account (Sparbuch). Amazon require a giro for direct deduction.

I'm curious as to why the OP thinks he can use his Sperrkonto for shopping at Amazon, though. It's supposed to be for food and lodging.

But... this does say that you get an EC card with it the Sperrkonto and can use it to withdraw money and pay for goods up to a certain amount each month. You can't use the debit card at Amazon but the Bankeinzug might work.

I will give info about online shopping. I learnt (kind of) a lot about online shopping if you do not have a credit card in Germany.

You can buy a prepaid visa or master credit card ant charge your card and use it online.

You can buy amazon gift cards: 50€, 25€ available (perhaps even 10€ ones exist but I have not seen any yet)