Cheap food for college student

55 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I'm an American exchange student studying at Uni Stuttgart for the year. I'm trying to spend as little money as possible on food, but I want to go to bed each night with a full stomach. Does anybody have any advice as to what some good, cheap foods are in a regular German supermarket? Or perhaps any decent, inexpensive recipes?

Any help would be appreciated. Vielen Dank!

Rice, beans, potatoes, noodles, canned tomatoes, Ja Products from Rewe, or Aldi, Lidl, Penny Markt for staples, veg and fruits. Go to farmers markets at the end of the day, especially on Sat. You can bring home bags of food, for very little, as they want to get rid of it. Lettuce, carrots, fruits.

If you have an oven, make your own bread.

Potatoes ... they are pretty cheap now. You should be able to get 25Kg for ~6€ :P

Go to Lidl/Aldi/Netto/Penny(Germanys leading Hard-Discounter) and check their grocery. The prices for their own brand products(cheapest) should be identical.

For recipes use Google if you are too lazy to cook buy frozen pizza 3x Pizza Salami 2.49€ thats 83cents for a meal :ph34r:

I lived of well soaked Muesli, rice pudding and rice with a spoon of instant broth for better taste for a couple of months in younger days. If you can cook basics, you can eat quite well and healthy with very little money. Apart from Aldi and Lidl there are a lot of turkish shops that sell fresh vegetables and fruit as well as rice for little money.

A lot of products have the cooking instructions printed on the package.And you can get a loaf of good uncut bread for less than 2 Euros.

buy frozen pizza 3x Pizza Salami 2.49€ thats 83cents for a meal

Let,s say 1.24 per meal as you will need one and a half to be full.

You could bake your own bread. My mom does it and at Tegut 1 kg of wholegrain flour costs only 79 cents.