American dentist moving to Dresden area

9 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I am an American trained dentist with 15 years of experience who has been living in Germany for 5 years now. Recently I got out of the Army contractor job and got my German dental license. I would like to find a good job here in Germany. I am also in the process of moving to the Dresden/Chemnitz area.

So I am looking for a good job with good pay in the Dresden/Chemnitz area. I won't rule out doing non dental job. I speak English, Chinese, German, and some Czech. I am a nice person, hard working, and very willing to learn new things. Can anyone give me some advise or give me a nice job?

Thanks a million...

P

Since you're moving to the Dresden/Chemnitz area, I've taken the liberty of moving your posting from the "nationwide" ad sub-forum to the "Central Germany" sub-forum. My first suggestion would have been to get your professional qualifications recognized, but I see you've already gotten your German license, which is a good first step. Your next step is to start networking. Get in touch with the Zahnärzte Kammer in Saxony, get yourself a (free) profile on XING.com, which is the main German professional networking site, and go from there.

As a non-EU citizen, you will have to go through the Vorrangprüfung to get a work permit (see the TT Wiki page for more information on that), but your professional qualifications and your German language skills give you a much better basis to do so than those who are searching for unskilled jobs. Or do you by any chance hold a second (EU) citizenship, or are you married to an EU national - that would help you get around the Vorrangprüfung.

You might find a job with Zahnkliniken or Gemeinschaftspraxen.

http://www.jobdental.de/jobs.html

http://www.zahnaerzte-in-sachsen.de/app/zahnaerzte/stellenboerse/mitarbeiterangebote/list