Two steuernummers for married freelancer?

6 posts in this topic

Hi Toytowners! I've been a long time lurker and first of all I wanted to thank you for being such a huge source of information and advice for settling in Germany!

I've been reading posts about taxes for days and can't find this specific issue.

My husband and I applied for our steuernummers as freelancers a few weeks ago. I'm a translator/copywriter, he’s a photographer, earning under 17k € a year each, so no VAT for now. This week we got a letter from the Finanzamt addressed to both of us with one steuernummer. Confused by that, I turned to TT and found out that here in Germany it's common to have one steuernummer as a married couple, and accepted the fact that his number is also my number. But, two days later a second letter with another steuernummer arrived, this time addresses to just me, it says:

Sie gilt für folgende Steuerarten:

Gewinnermittlung nach § 4 Abs. 3 EStG (this is also on the first letter addressed to both of us, along with Einkommensteuer)

Bezeichnung des Betriebs: Dolmetschen

I first though, OK this is just my number then and the whole joint number thing maybe isn't so anymore. But the problem is, Dolmetschen means interpreting (based on what the Internet tells me, my German is very limited, just started taking classes), and I'm a Überzetzerin (translator). These are similar but, in practice, different activities. Basically, an interpreter translates orally, while a translator interprets written text. My concern is, what if the Finanzamt maybe misinterpreted what I stated as my activity in the form (I think I wrote: Übersetzung und Texterstellung), or if they just put all “language conversion” activities under the Dolmetschen umbrella, although they list them as separate things over here. Or is there maybe a special taxation on interpreting activities?