Kleinunternehmer will start 2nd freelance job

13 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I finally registered and decided to post after a long time lurker without an account as, although I've so far stumped my way through german bureaucracy with help from fellow ex pats and TT forum, I now have a fairly unique predicament!

I'm currently a Kleinunternehmer as a musician / sound guy earning just enough money to eat. But I'm fed up of being so poor and will now start as a bike courier as well with TWISTER in approx 2 weeks, but will continue doing music/sound engineer work as a supplemental income.

The bike messenger thing is 100% self employed but I have to handle MvSt directly with customers and then calculate umsatzsteuer for my accounts at the end of each month.

I have no problem being able to do my own tax returns and accounts but my question is concerning A) the switch from Kleinunternehmer to an umsatzsteuer handling Freiberufler as I have now kept accounts as a KU without collecting MvSt for 7 months with a net revenue of 2.767,28 €. Although this isn't very much, should I have to pay the 19% on everything, that is 525€ which I simply don;t have right now, and would put me off of starting my second job.

And then secondly, how do I regester my self as a musician / bike courier? That's like saying I am a professional footballer slash proctologist... they are so unrelated to make it unlikely that I could claim a guitar and a new set of wheels as costs under the same "business"...? Or do I need to have two businesses?

Can anyone help me with this, or have similar experiences?

Thanks!

:) :) :)

First let's be clear on some terminology:

• freelance = freiberuflich = brain (needs a university degree) or artistic job, e.g. medical doctor, lawyer, engineer, artist, author
  • gewerblich: all other jobs, e.g. bike courier