Language teachers' salaries in Germany

44 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I'm moving to live and work in Germany and I am currently in the process of applying for various teaching jobs. I have a very vague idea of what EFL teachers are paid in Germany, the search results from this forum are a little outdated, I suspect. Working at a language school, what sum can I expect to be paid for 45 min? What would be a reasonable amount to ask for? I am a fully qualified teacher with more than 10 years of experience.

Any info and recommendations/warnings are welcome! :)

Most schools I know of (and work for..) have not increased their pay rates in over ten years..

Pay will depend on where you live.. I don't know about places like Munich, Hamburg, etc.. But in those places you'd need triple what you'd earn in Berlin I think.. Berlin is one of my favorite cities, but I'd never teach there.. - couldn't afford to..

Anyway, there is no national average. I would think though that with your experience you'd have to hope for €20ish per unit for starters.. There are places though where you just won't get that..

I honestly more and more think that double (and in some cases triple..) that is completely legitimate, because in the sparse times it's so hard to string together enough 90-minute lessons (what everyone seems to want these days..), factoring in commuting, cancellations, etc.. to live off.. The state of ESL in Germany has not improved much in the last ten years. On the contrary...