Using a German cell phone within the U.S.

55 posts in this topic

I spent a "Menge" of money on a Nokia N90, just to find out a few days later that I'll be moving back to the US.

Assuming the SIM card is not locked, would it be possible to take the phone to, say, Verizon and just get a new card? Or it's mandatory that I buy the cell phone with an American operators?

I'm not a techie, at least not a telecom techie, so forgive my ignorance.

Maria

Looking on the Nokia web site shows you the phone details

Dual mode WCDMA/GSM and triband GSM coverage on up to five continents (GSM 900/1800/1900 and WCDMA 2100 networks)

So Yes, this phone will work in the US, with a US SIM card, as long as the phone isn't SIM locked.

You can get just a sim from most of the providers in the US, or as part of a package with a free

phone.

You may however loose some functionality as not all services offered in EU are avail in the US.

should work. just unlock your phone if it's locked.

wahoo nokie phones! :)

make sure your phone is dual or triple band and thus actually works in USA. I suggest just going to a mobile phone shop and asking for a pre-paid SIM card

You can purchase T-Mobile pre-paid SIM cards in the US (look for an independent mobile phone shop - not any of the big service providers like Verison, Sprint, etc.)

there is a catch though. you cannot swap back and forth between your new US sim and German sim cards. at least in my experience of 2 yrs ago, when I took out the US sim put my DE sim back in to check my SMSs, the US sim locked itself when i put it back in again. buggers. :angry:

Motorola V220, a triband, is being offerred by Plus for 99 Euros. How can I be sure that it would take the US prepaid SIM card?

Cingular offers refurbished cell phones for 29.99$ and a prepaid card for about $20.00. Has anyone used these?

Last time I went back, I got a T-Mobile Pre-Paid card, which came with $20 credit and it cost $50..