Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Looking to Start Microenterprise in Nuremberg

5 posts in this topic

My boyfriend of two years is now living in Nuremberg, on a work visa, and is waiting for me to join him. But he doesn't make quite enough to support us both for too long, so I need to find work. After reading the postings on this site by expats about the major difficulties trying to find a job in Germany, I am convinced I will have the same difficulties. I am already struggling to find even job postings that suit my skills and I don't speak German - although I plan on learning. However, a light bulb went off in my head last night about starting my own business.

I currently work in the natural foods industry in the San Francisco Bay Area, and I see room for growth in certain categories in the natural foods market in Bavaria, especially Nuremberg. I know all the hot products in the U.S. Market - perhaps Germans will respond well to some of them. Importing products would be too expensive and wasteful. So, I would like to look into starting by own wholesale business selling natural food products (that I make myself) to local natural food stores and cafes. Since I plan on being the sole founder and employee, it seems it would make sense for me to pursue starting a "microenterprise." I want to be low budget - I'm talking, a bike and trailer as my delivery system to local businesses; working out of a home kitchen, although I suspect that may not be legal, in which case, a commercial kitchen.

Can anyone tell me if this is feasible? What are the chances they'd grant me a residence permit to pursue such a dream? (Although my boyfriend is open to getting married, which would solve our visa problems, I am not quite ready for that step.) Is there some kind of minimal capital investment? I know I will need to develop a solid business plan.

Any input or suggestions are much appreciated.

Thank you!

-K