Problem getting birth certificate for newborn

61 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!

I have been a reader of Toytown Germany for a long time, but this is my first post and I would like your help, please!

I have been working here in Aachen - Germany since 2010 and will leave Germany on 31.01.2013.

I have brought my wife and my son (2 year old) here to stay with me since 2010. Our marriage and the first child birth were all registered in my country. Recently my wife gave birth to our second child.

I have come to the Standesamt to register the birth of my newborn baby (to get a Geburturkunde) but they refused to provide one because they do not accept our marriage certificate from our country (although it was certified and translated to German). This is the very same document that I submitted to the Germany Embassy in my country so I can bring my wife and my first child here. So in their view, me and my wife are not legally married here in Germany. It is a bit ridiculous, given that is the reason why my wife can be here.

Without the Gerburturkunde for my newborn baby, I cannot obtain her passport (as my country embassy here in Berlin requires that to provide a passport) and a residence permit, that means we cannot travel anywhere or get out of Germany on 31.01.2013.

So my question is that: Is it possible to register my child's Geburturkunde as unmarried parents with me and my wife both going to the Standesamt. Is it going to be a different form with the one for married parents. Will that affect anything for the child later on?

Benefits and parenting laws in Germany are not important to us, because we are leaving the country in three months anyway. We just need to get this document so we can get out of here.

Thanks so much for reading!