Freelance jobs on a student visa?

15 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am a doctoral student, but my contract has run out. I have a #16 visa, but was paid a salary with standard deductions etc. I am non EU.

I will need at least an year to complete my thesis. I teach one class at the university, but it is very poorly paid. I am allowed to work 90 full days, or 180 half days.

I can make money in the city I live in doing various things, like teaching English, working as an extra on a film set, cooking for a group of people, one to one English coaching, etc. I have been offered a job teaching English about twice a week. Can I do this? They pay on a freelancer basis since they do not want to take full time employees. And I fear if I ask them for a full time or half time contract I will lose the job since I just joined and all English schools pay in this manner. On the other hand, without this, I cannot survive.

What do I do? Is working on a TV set once as an extra a freelance gig? What about teaching English? Any way around this?

Yes, they are freelance. And you can very easily get caught out. A friend on a full contract at the University near me did a one-off lecture for the VHS, for which he was paid 100€. He got caught out by the ABH, fined, had to repay the money (or else the VHS would have had to pay a HUGE fine for hiring a "schwartzarbeiter," and was warned not to do it again or face losing his visa.

You can work as an employee for a number of things (AFAIK you're not subject to the Vorrangsprüfung) or work at the Uni as Hilfskraft. But NO freelance.

You could ask for a part-time contract, if they are willing to deal with the paperwork.

I agree with Techgirl, you can't freelance.

I have been offered a job teaching English about twice a week.