Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Need a chicken drumstick recipe

24 posts in this topic

Hi i bought some chicken drumsticks today as i want to suprise the mrs tomorrow and cook them for her,trouble is I've never done them before! any good EASY recipes out there!have found a lemon recipe on here but am not to sure about that one any tips would be much appreciated. ps she loves KFC but the next one is 50km away.

OK, I don't know breaded, but spicy:

Here's the marinade (I rarely measure anything...):

Cereal bowl of yogurt.

Some tablespoons of cayenne depending on HOW spicy of course---for me, a LOT!!!

Garlic powder

Ginger powder

Cumin powder (IMPORTANT)

Oil (about a tablespoon per cereal bowl of yogurt)

Salt

Few squirts of lemon juice.

Stir. I keep tasting the marinade until it tastes like something that Impulse mère would make.

Marinate the chicken in this mixture for a reasonable amount of time, you can do it skinless or with skin but if you do it with skin, cut some slits in the chicken so the flavour marinates through.

Pop them in the oven on a nonstick sheet or on aluminum foil for however long you think it takes to make chicken. If you like, you can even sprinkle some rosemary on them. Especially if you leave the skin on, it produces a greasy, spicy gravy that you can skim the fat off or leave it in, but you eat over rice, ideally good Basmati rice. It goes well with Caesar salad too.

½ cup Tomato ketchup

¼ cup Soya sauce

2 table spoons Dijon mustard.

2 pods of Garlic crushed or paste

I small piece of Ginger grated or paste

2 table spoons Honey

1 teaspoon red chilly powder add more if you like it spicy

Salt to taste

Marinate the drumsticks for a few hours and then bake in the oven, it does get a bit blackish from the honey and sugar in the ketchup but thats ok, as long as they are not charred...

Or a Jerk style marinade

10 spring onions, coarsely chopped

1 habanero chile, seeded and coarsely chopped

2 Tbs. white-wine vinegar