Canadian Student Wanting to Study in Germany

10 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am a canadian student who will graduate high school with an average of 91%. In addition to this I am part of the international baccalaureate and will be receiving my diploma. I know that an abitur is needed to be admitted into a German university but would this study be the equivalent? I believe the international baccalaureate is recognized world-wide.

Also in addition to that I have my sprach diploma stufen 2, would I need to still take a language test to be admitted into the university?

And than I have dual citizenship with Germany and Canada, and does this give me an advantage at all? Would I apply as a German citizen or as an International Student?

If this is sufficient to getting into german university please let me know and if not what can I do? Thank you so much for all answers it really be helpful!

- Marie

Also I would like to attend heidelberg. Is this sufficient?

Here's the link for what type of language tests/examination results Heidelberg University accepts. Look at "Besondere Anforderungen".

I think that since you are a dual citizen that you'd be able to collect BAföG if you need it.

The language requirements are fairly simple I got the testDaf at level 4 which was the easiest route for myself.I think canadian high school alone might not suffice. Even though your grade is highly recommendable. My experience as a 'canadian' applying for uni here was that they wanted at least 2 years of canadian university before they would accept me. However you should contact some of the people on this list and see if they will accept you high school or not: http://www.uni-heidelberg.de/studium/interesse/bewerbung/zugang/deutsche.html