Top 5 American MBA & Start-up Berlin: Salary

56 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I have a salary question here - I'm in a little bit of a particular case because of my MBA. So I did my undergraduate degree in Europe at public university - I graduated with no debt. I worked and didn't earn a lot, but it didn't matter really. I was happy. Then from 2008-2010 I did an MBA (at a top 5 MBA in the US). Average salary for the first year after graduation is $110,000 + maybe $15,000 as a signing bonus. In order to do the MBA I took loans from Citibank for $50k*2 years + $35k living expenses = $135k.

The position would be upper management at a start-up

I need/want to pay the bank about $24K/year for the loan, so the first $2,000 I make each month goes to Citibank. What would a top MBA get in a start-up?

My friend who graduated from INSEAD 2 years ago, and works in consulting in Italy told me this:

"Europe is a very diverse area in terms of salary and cost of living. On average, but with high volatility, a post-topMBA guy can get an offer around 100Keuro+30Kbonus in a top consulting firm. With Germany/UK/Holland on the higher side of the distribution and Italy/France/Spain on the

lower side. In the industry is 20/30k less than 100K and in finance up to 50K more. Please remember that European countries provide health assistance almost for free. And goog pension scheme... Although this is now under revision."

On glassdoor.com I saw that McKinsey associates in Germany were making 100-200K

In all sincerity, I don't want to shock the pants off the nice team I've been talking to at Rocket. Is there anyone out there with an MBA from Stanford, LBS, Insead, Harvard, Colombia etc. who could give me some advice here?

Thank you for your advice

Offer a range that you think your worth and what you would be happy with.