Music studies over 30

15 posts in this topic

o.k. This question might be terribly naive but here we go... :blink:

would u go and study music at age 32 ( meaning full academic studies ), considering the fact that I'll be through at around 37 and that this town seems to be full of unemployed artists... - just to be clear i'm a sound engineer and an experienced musician but without any formal training, and a non EU citizen living here now on an artist visa, and seriously considering my future - as in making a professional retraining.

Do you know anyone who puled such an act through? Or maybe from your own experience?

Honest opinions are welcomed,

Thanks.

What exactly do you wish to do with the training? You are a sound engineer AND an experienced musician already so why not use that? seems like you certainly have an advantage over those younger unemployed artists... :)

But at the end, you should do what feels right to you.

PS: I think you need contacts more than a formal training for a jumpstart, if that's what your end goal is.

למה לא?

A guy at my university was forty-five years old when he finished off his bachelors.

LIAB makes a great point. You're never too old to further your education. And 37 is not at all old for a music industry professional, a lot of DJs and MCs don't make a real name for themselves until their 40s anyway. Tons of examples of this. Probably a good idea to keep working in the field while you're doing it, if it's possible. Go for it! Plus you will make great contacts in school too. Best of luck!

what kind of training do you mean? Classical? Jazz? reading "full academic studies" makes me think you're interested in more 'serious' music studies..

Thanks for your tips people, willowhands to your question - Jazz.