Sufficient salary ranges in and around Munich

942 posts in this topic

Hi

I am newb here, and thanks for all your useful info here.

I had two telephone interviews in the UK with an internation company based in Ismaning and next week I will have a face to face interview. I have a master of computer science degree with 8 years of Oracle/ SQL server dba, data analysis and reporting /BI experience. So far that company is willing to pay 50000 euro + bonus +relocation package. I was told the income tax is very high in Germany, so do you think this salary is fair and enough for myself (married, but my wife is not with me at the moment)??

Thanks for yout time!!

You could check http://www.parmentier.de/steuer/steuer.htm?wagetax.htm for an idea what your net will look like.

With €50,000 a year, as a single man (which you will be considered if your wife is not with you) you'll end up with €30,000 in your pocket, or 2,500€ a month, after all deductions and health insurance. A decent apartment in the north-east of Munich will cost you around 1000€ a month, and would be big enough for you and your wife, should she decide to join you (and if she does then the additional tax-break that provides, if she doesn't work, adds around 300€ a month). Most of the rest of the living costs you can expect are similar to UK, so you can work out most of the rest yourself to make your decision. Ismaning itself is conveniently located for public transport, pretty much half-way between Munich city and the airport, and close to the A99 Autobahn which circles the east of the city and provides connections to north and south Europe. Bear in mind too that you need to consider the quality of living here, as well as the cost, so take that into account with your considerations.

How big's the bonus? 50k is in line with average Bavaria FT salary (52k) so it's OK. The IT graduates I know in SW Germany would expect to start on 60k.

Thanks all for your replies.