Sandemans New Europe raided by police

96 posts in this topic

OKelly, the company COO came down to Munich and held an "emergency meeting." We were told not to cooperate with the police and he coached us what to say when asked. He told us that the company lawyer would take care of everything, but somehow, if I am a freelancer, I don't see why the company would provide me with quality representation that had my best interests in mind. So, the company is going to provide me with legal representation, to prove that I am a freelancer, when it is in their best interests to show that I am.

There is no libel or slander here, just the facts as to what happened.

Will try to get copy of the inccident report and post.

If that's what they really said then it sounds as if they're asking you to lie to the police - of course you must tell the police the truth and if you were to volunteer that you were instructed by OKelly to lie to them it might get a bit stickier for them.

Everyone just remember the Internet has a long memory..be careful what you say...

Hello,

This is Dave O'Kelly. I just wanted to come on here and clear up some of the things said. I'm not bothered about slander / libel or any of that as has been mentioned on here, but just on a personal level I wanted to say that there are some things on here that are inaccurate.

It's a small thing, but it wasn't exactly an "emergency meeting" - it was happening anyway.

More importantly, though, I'm sorry but I absolutely did not say not to cooperate with the police or any official. The only thing I wanted to (and feel that I did) get across was that if someone is asked questions, they could answer if they wanted to but didn't have to. I then simply said it would be a risk to sign off on something based on a misunderstanding or a problem with translation which might later turn out to be accidentally false. But, again, it was just my personal opinion and obviously the decision lies with each individual.