Moving to Erlangen

30 posts in this topic

I will be moving to Erlangen for my job next month. This is my first time in Germany. I would really appreciate if someone has information about how the life is there for expats in general. Where to live? Where to hangout? Are there any English bookstores or cinemas? Any English-speaking clubs? What about English-speaking expats? How's the nightlife? What are the monthly expenses like (I am single)? How's the weather in winters (I heard it gets -20 degrees). And of course would like to meet the TTers if any there.

I lived in Erlangen for several years. It is a student town and there are lots of people from Siemens there. I can really go on and on... but maybe it is good I get some more information about you. It is centrally located with only a couple our trip to Munich, 20 min Nuremberg, Bamberg is there, etc. I loved it and it was the best place to integrate. Not sure where you are from, they are use to foreigners. Weather, well, you cannot compare it to California. It is more mild than the east coast. It tends to be more sunny than munich.

I just moved to Munich from Bamberg, which is near Erlangen. The weather is a bit warmer than Munich, and it doesn't quite snow so much, but don't sell your beach house just yet! There is an American Military post in Bamberg, so it shouldn't be a problem finding fellow English speakers.

Hi

living anywhere central is a good idea, there aren't any really bad areas, Altstadt is lovely and I'd avoid the blocks of flats on the edge of town. You'd be looking at about 300-600€ rent a month for a 1-bed flat btw, cheap it is not. And as a student town along with working high earners, the range of properties on offer is pretty wide in quality but also quite hard to find. Have you thought about a flatshare?