American High School Diploma = Hauptschule?

103 posts in this topic

I decided that I wanted to get a German certificate to make myself really employable in my field - child care. One of the requirements to attending Erzieherinschule is a "realschule" diploma. I have a high school diploma and 2 years of university, so I didn't think this would be a problem...

I was turned down on the grounds that I didn't have enough science or math credits in high school and given a document stating that my diploma is equivalent to a "hauptschule" dipoma. So if I want a childcare certificate I have to get my Realschulabschluss first. I'm 37 and running out of time in which to be hireable. Does anyone know of a way around this; can I appeal? Can I do both certificates at the same time? Any advice is welcome!

given a document stating that my diploma is equivalent to a "hauptschule" dipoma.

That can't be correct.

I think you're being screwed. I have no idea what your options are, however, I got recognized as gymnasium equivalent and enough to get me into uni here (TUM) on the basis of high school and two years of university. I would ask around about your different options.

But who to ask? This is the office you do those things in and as far as I know, there's no other. He claims it's just a simple matter of number of credits.

That can't be correct.

Sadly, it's true. And the worst part is that I have to do the complete RS thing, just to get a few math and science classes. It's ridiculous. He did make it a point to tell me several times how US standards are lower than German.

sure but they can't be that much lower. You do have to do at least grade 12 math and 2 sciences don't you?

12 math credits? I don't have that many, and a few classes I got less than a C in and he said they don't count at all.

He did make it a point to tell me several times how US standards are lower than German.