Is going to a Steuerberater worth it for me?

19 posts in this topic

Hi All,

After reading some posts on tax returns, I decided to talk to a steuerberater to file my returns.

I am a PhD student/research assistant in Magdeburg since 2 years and earn about 1700 euro per month before taxes and the monthly taxes (lohnsteuer) I pay is about 153 euro. My situation is very simple. I don't have any other income apart from my stipend and no investments, real estate etc.

I went to the steuerberater and they told me that I can get about 150 euro per month tax back. So for 2 years that happens to be 3600 €.

They din't give me their exact fees but told me that this whole procedure would cost me about 150 to 250 €.

So my question is it really possible to get all the lohnsteuer of 150 € back or only a part of it is possible?

Is it worth to pay 150 - 250 € for this? The fees of this steuerberater is in normal range considering that I am filing the returns for 2 years?

Best,

Aachen

I went to the steuerberater and they told me that I can get about 150 euro per month tax back. So for 2 years that happens to be 3600 €.

So my question is it really possible to get all the lohnsteuer of 150 € back or only a part of it is possible?

With a gross income of 1,700€ per month, you do pay 153.67€ per month income tax.

To get that whole amount of 150€ income tax back, you would have to earn only at the subsistence level, i.e. the tax free limit of 8,004 per year --> 667€ per month.

To go from a monthly income of 1,700€ to one of 667€ you would have to have allowable deductions of over 1,000€ per month.

This is not possible if you are only an employee (might be possible if you ran a business on the side which made only losses, but then the Finanzamt would jump on it and declare it a hobby = Liebhaberei).

So I think you must have misunderstood that tax advisor.

They didn't give me their exact fees but told me that this whole procedure would cost me about 150 to 250 €.