Packstation - automated parcel collection points

175 posts in this topic

post-20-1122279782.jpg
I recently got myself a Packstation account. Seems cool. You get a card, an account number and a pin. Then you can have any package delivered to any Packstation you like in Germany, Munich has 86 of them. Once the package has arrived at your Packstation you are notified by SMS and/or email and you can go pick it up with your card 24/7 – just enter your PIN and out it comes.

Works out great for me, since I'm never at home to receive a package. So far either they've taken it back to the post office where you have to pick it up during their opening hours, or given it to some dodgy neighbour, or just left it in front of the apartment. For me, Packstation is a good solution.

I've been using this for about 6 months and can confirm that it has made life a lot easier.

Maybe it should also be mentioned that the service is FREE.

i have a packstation account for some months now, great thing to get things delivered. but you should keep in mind, that if the station is full or the box you get delivered is too big to fit in - your stuff gets redirected to the central DHL depot in the Arnulfstr. and you have to pick it up there. Kinda annoying, happened to me twice already :P

Starbuck: Which hasn't happened to me yet but wouldn't be any worse than the pre-packstation state of affairs anyway

STB: That's obvious to you and me, but not necessarily to people in the so-called "service" sector around here...

Just a hint:

Don't change your PIN on the Internet on their screwed up site. It doesn't work, even though you get the message 'your PIN was changed successfully'. I entered my new PIN at a Packstation 3x yesterday and my card got locked. When I called customer service they said

"Yes, if you change your PIN on the Internet it might not work even though you get a confirmation message. We are fixing this issue, so it should be working fine in a week or two."

Tossers :angry: