Getting a seat on InterCity Express trains

19 posts in this topic

I've been catching the IC for two months now, but I got to say, picking a seat is a pain the bum, You can't always seem to tell if the seat is reserved or not. I know above each seat there's a little digital screen that says some crap but I can't seem to pick any rhyme or reason behind it and have had the occasional embarassment of having to give my seat up to someone who has been booked. I assumed that the little digital screens would show up the citys that the seat is booked for but that doesn't seem to be it.

And what's the go with the food carriage? I'd much rather hang out in there do you have to buy food to hang there? It looks so cool.

Normally back home I would just go and try stuff like this out but I'm paranoid about getting hit up by angry germans for being out of Ordnung.

If you want to be sure of a seat, you have to reserve it and it costs. Have a look here(sorry in German) Click onto "Preistabelle" for the cost.

€4.50 if you by it at the counter (from a human being!!!)

€2.50 if you reserve it online (at the same time you buy your ticket)

Then various other rates.

Pity that the seats can't be marked as reserved with towels – that would be so much easier.

:lol:

Sometimes the reservation system is messed up and the screens don't work but usually they do and they will show the stretches of the route that a seat is reserved for. Do keep in mind that it will not show any reservations done last minute at the counter. Other than that RainyDays' advice is great.

I personally find that it is usually not necessary to make a reservation unless you travel at a time when commuters usually travel or the two days before Christmas. At least that has been my experience, mostly on the ICs/ECs between Heidelberg and Munich.

So just a question guys, related to this thread.