German car insurance and foreign no-claims bonuses

17 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm currently living in Dublin and want to move to Germany, preferrably Munich (having been to a good few cities in Germany, Munich is may favourite) in a few months (lots of things to tie up this end!!). I have a question regarding car insurance. I'e been insured with my own policy for a couple of years now but I have about 7 years driving experience before that as a named driver. I have been trying to find out will any of the German inurance companies give me schadenfreijahres or whatever they call a no claims bonus, for these 7 years in particular. Obviously this amount of time could considerably reduce my premiums! Has anybody got similar experiences trying to secure no claims discounts from German insurers? Thanks in advance for any replies!!

Surely it doesn't matter how long you've been a named driver as this doesn't go towards any sort of no claims bonus, even in Ireland.

Anyways, you'll be pleasantly surprised at the cost of insurance here by comparison to Dublin. There's a massive difference.

If you want the phone number of the insurance guy I use here then drop me a mail or message. He speaks excellent English and will be able to give you an idea of what exactly is involved.

Cheers for the reply keydeck,

Eagle star (my current shower of extortionate fcukers) INSISTED I send them the letter from the crowd that had me insured as a named driver, they said they'd based the quote partly on it (I know cos they rang me after I said the same as you-'sure fcuk it, hardly forms part of the quote, I won't bother sendeing it in'!!!).