Road cycling - Group training rides?

100 posts in this topic

I am new to Munich and enjoy road riding with a fast (30km/h) group of cyclists. Does anyone know of any regular club rides that leave the Munich area? How about a recommendation for a masters racing club? I would like to train for gran fondos on the weekend and to be prepared for riding in the Alps when the snow melts. Thanks!

A friend of mine trains with RC Concordia.. Nice bunch of guys, regular rides, and races. They are all German, but shouldn't be any problems to talk in English as well. Let me know whether you need further info.

Whereabouts in Munich do you live? I often go out road biking this time of year, provided it's not too icy/snowy. I'm eying-up some MTBs on ebay.de as road biking was pretty miserable last winter; I can ride the speeds you are talking about without any problem.

I ride solo pretty often, but freezing temperatures dampen my motivation. I'd really like to have some riding partners. It's probably too cold/snowy to hit the mountains, but there are still some fun rides around here, but there isn't much climbing that i know of other than the alps :(

I have a flat tire and I'm out of patches, so once bike stores open tomorrow I'm game.

Is there a particular day/time you need to ride? I'm pretty much always free.

I'm also far from being in the Master's age of riding :P but riding averaging 30km/h for 80-100 km sounds just like my rides.

I had a really nice 2h ride out there today, even though my gears and brakes froze :o I was surprised at all the other bikers out too; I saw a lot of groups. Anyone else venture out today?

I'm free this Sunday and the following weekends (& Friday afternoons) until Saturday 13 Feb. If anyone wants some company for a few kms, I'd be happy to oblige. Given the time of year, early starts are probably a no-go, unless the weather warms-up a bit!

PM me if you're interested :D