Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Health Insurance Contract Cancellation

11 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I tried searching the TT forums for a similar topic, but there isn't anything like this on there.

I'm an exchange student from Canada and I have to pay for German health insurance while I am here. I am with Techniker Krankenkasse and went to them yesterday to say I was leaving the country on August 7th. I wanted to cancel my health insurance since I won't be needing it anymore. What he said is that the German government requires students to be insured for the entire term, which ends on September 30th. They said they cannot cancel the contract and I have to pay for all of August and all of September. I'll be back home in Canada on August 27th.

The sum is around 65 euros a month. Since I will be leaving August 7th, I don't like the fact that I have to pay for all of August and September. It's really hard for me to justify spending 65 euros for nothing.

I was thinking I could just cancel my bank account, and then they would have no way of finding me.

Here's my question: If I was to cancel my bank account after paying for the August fees (but not the ones for September), what would happen? Would I have a criminal record in Germany? Would they start to charge interest on the unpaid sum? or is it just better for me to pay it?

if you never intend to return to Germany (or the EU) in your life again - go ahead and do not pay this amount.

Because of course you will be registered as a bad credit risk here in Germany and they might even pursue you ( it has happened for smaller amounts) so that you check-in with your passport at a German (or EU) airport the can detain you and collect the money (plus interest and all).