Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Where to witness Berlin's alternative art scene

10 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

As it's my first post, I'm introducing me and my situation in some short words.

I've lived in Berlin for almost 2 months now, and I'm staying until the middle of July. I'm a french student and an internship brought me here. I have to make music videos and promotion videos for a small electro music label called BlackFoxMusic. I came here with a friend of mine who is doing their website.

I had a lot of expectations about Berlin as so-called capitol of electronic music in Europe. But in effect, I must confess I'm disappointed and disillusioned. Most of the stages are performing techno/minimal when I would expect some places with (among others) experimental electronica, glitch music and such.

I'm a musician myself and musical performances is exactly what I am looking for. Actually I'm not stuck to electronic musics, free jazz, contemporary music and lots of more fit my tastes...

Despite this music fact, meeting people is also not as easy as I expected for the ones like me, who don't know any Berliner.

Everyone I have asked told me that I could find what I expect in the "underground" scene. I did my best to find such places but again, with no one to lead me this is rather tough.

I'm 19 and even though I'm usually rather communicative and friendly, I feel there is something wrong here that split me from the local livings (even around my age). The bigger the city is, the easier it is to feel lost and lonely, isn't it?

My topic, as I previously mentionned, is video. I'm sure it is possible to find video-artists here, to see their work, to meet them and to meet people like me, willing to do such works.