New to Hohenfels (working at USAG Hohenfels)

23 posts in this topic

Hi all. I'm new to Hohenfels but not Regensburg. I've lived in Stuttgart and Kaiserslautern before, with a brief 4 year pit stop in Japan. I also use to date a lovely German girl who is from this area so I know it a little about the bigger cities like Deggendorg and Amberg. Can anyone recommend any nice places to meet young Bavarians around my area? I'm a relatively young guy so I'm looking for nice nightlife, good coffee shops where college age to late 20-something people hang out, and maybe some shopping. I realize this isn't Berlin or Munich, but the few times I've spent here in the past have been great. The locals took me to all kinds of places around Regensburg and Deggendorf. I know there's a lot going on here.

Thanks

Deggendorf's a bit far away, isn't it? I think your best bet in the general vicinity is Regensburg.

Why would it take an hour? Hohenfels is barely 30 km from Regensburg, isn't it? :unsure:

Generally speaking, there are loads of nightlife places in the historic downtown area. With more than 20,000 university students, there really is no shortage of young people interested in partying.

As for shopping, there is a huge shopping mall called "DEZ" north of the river (with ample parking). There is a smaller mall attached to the main train station, plus there are all sorts of shops in the historic downtown area.

Working in Hohenfels, not living there. But awesome, thanks!

directions to DDorf

Guess you're not driving fast enough pops ;)

I know there are a few uni's there but there didn't seem to be hubs or popular social places where all the students like to hang out. I know Munich has a few.

Most likely will live in Regensburg. I'd like to hang out in Deggendorf sure.