German terms for 'disabilities', 'special needs'

11 posts in this topic

is anyone out there working with people with dis-abilities? a few years ago. in Australia, i was working as an attendant carer in a home with young people with high-needs dis-abilities( is this still a politically correct term ?)in Ireland i worked as a volunteer in a day centre for people with (mostly)mental dis-abilities, also in an old peoples home.i am trying to get back into this field over here. can anyone tell me how these positions translate?

cheers, andi

Google for Behindertenbetreuung. First link that comes up is www.promedica24.de. They are looking for Krankenschwester (nurses), Krankenpfleger (male nurses), Betreuer/Betreuerinnen (care giver). Krank means sick, behindert means disabled.

cheers,ma beer. i shall check it out. but round here, a lot of 'pfleger'jobs need you to have a qualification. in Ireland i studied part- time for a 'Certificate in Disability Studies'.would you have something like this over here? doesn't experience count for anything?

Potential employers want the relevant piece of paper because their insurance will not pay out if something goes wrong and you are not professionally qualified, Welcome to Germany and the flexible job market.

Do you actually speak German? If so , you should be able to get employment as a Pfleger . It is shocking how underqualified some of the so called Pflegers are here . If however you have no or only basic German , you will have no chance .

doesn't experience count for anything?