Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Should I move to Emden to do a masters programme

7 posts in this topic

Hi There

I am a new member and this is my first post to this forum..actually i couldnt believe my eyes to find English-Speaking forums in Germany, it represents paradise to me!!

I am a female mechanical engineer originally from Cairo, Egypt and lately i recieved acceptance from the Univ. of Aplied Sciences in one of their Masters Programme (Int'l) and i should be in Emden on 1st March '09, I have been searching since i received the acceptance email for student jobs and what is the lifestyle in Emden, Germany, to be honest i wasnot very lucky and i became a bit disappointed from what i have found, knowing that i will be financing my studies totally by myself as i havent applied for any scholarship yet.

it seems as long as your German Language is not good enough you will not be really able to survive or to find a part-time job.

I became more confused as now i have another offer from a Swedish university in Stockholm, and i am seriously thinking about heading to Sweden as most of the nation speaks perfect English and some companies / individulas hire students who dont speak swedish, or very little swedish as long as he/she is fluent in English.

I would appreciate if anyone who lived in both countries can give me a piece of advice and if anyone here lives in Emden can give me a glimbse of the city and is it really that hard to find a job there?!

Thanks and good Luck for All

If I were you I would go to Stockholm, no doubt about it. I may be biased because I love Stockholm and have never even been to Emden (I had to look it up on the map just now), but since you don't speak any German my answer would be the same even if your potential German destination was Munich, Berlin or any other city. Whatever your decision, I wish you best of luck!

Some more additonal ways you can analyse your decision could be: