Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Unexplained loads seen on a Linux webserver

45 posts in this topic

Been driving me mad for about 9 days. My dedicated server slows to a crawl, the server load shoots up, sites become unavailable, cpsrvd restarts and then after xx minutes it all goes back to normal.

We have been looking for DOS attacks, hackers, faulty hard drives, robots and spiders, rogue scripts etc etc. I am not good at this stuff, but have had software and hardware guys trying to work it out. Replaced all components except the hard drive so far.

However...it just happened again for 20-30 minutes and I took some screenshots in TOP when logged in via SSH. First is WITH high load, and the 2nd as you can see with the server load just coming down. Anyone see anything as a possible cause???

post-544-1223299130_thumb.jpg

kswapd0 is the virtual memory management daemon but your VM cache is at zero. Some mistake there surely?

Not too sure there, what flavour of Linux are you running at what version, and is it booted to runlevel 3 or 5 (ie. do you have the GUI running too?).

It looks like your pooter is waiting for IO so the disk should be investigated - the computer is IO limited. This link is quite interesting. The %97+ wa value could also come from a poorly configured gigabit ethernet card on a slow bus - Gigabit ethernet cards must be on PCIe, or ideally fully integrated on the mainboard, for them to work properly or they run the risk of drowning the system in interrupts.

Oh, and look out for stupid 'indexing' tasks that run from time to time. Older SuSE versions have one that does this at random points and it's a real pain in the tits.

If it's waiting for IO and the swap daemon is the top process then you'd expect a prob with the swap file/disk. But according to top, there isn't one.

Maybe configure it with a swap file and see what happens then?