Vodka shops in Munich

32 posts in this topic

I'm looking into buying a nice bottle of vodka to bring back home as a Christmas gift for a relative. Unfortunately, I'm not a vodka expert. I want to get him something that's good, not so easy to get in the US, and up to 40 Euro.

He usually drinks Grey Goose, Ketel One and has a fondness for Belvedere although I don't think he drinks it too often.

Do any of you vodka drinkers have any tips, i.e. WHAT to buy and at WHICH SHOPS to get it?

Yep. Duty free is the way to go. Cheaper than you can find anywhere in the city and their wide selection is tax free. I just saw their selection a few hours ago.

In a side by side taste test comparison in my kitchen, yours truly picked Smirnoff over Absolut.

Smooth taste, considerably less afterburn.

Take the Smirnoff challenge. ;)

No other vodka's participated in the poll.

The thing is, you can get Smirnoff quite easily in the US.

Did you happen to notice if the duty free carries Polish and/or Russian vodkas (rarer ones)?

Actually I only got to spend about one minute there because my flight was boarding and I couldn't purchase anything because they need 45 minutes before the flight to be able to bring your purchase to you on board. I was in Atlanta (btw) and was drawn to the pretty color of the Jim Beam bottles rather than making a mental inventory list- which would have served me better.

There is a duty free shop in Munich's Terminal 2 (I don't know about terminal 1) and I suppose their selection is pretty wide, but I have no idea what they carry.

If you don't want to risk it:

There is a store called Wein und Mehr on the corner of Amalienstr. and Turkenstr. in Schwabing that might carry a wider selection than Tengelmann or MiniMall.