Help configuring WLAN on a Speedport 500v - Germany

Various problems and suggested solutions

elsie2009
Please help!!

I cannot pick up my router from my laptop or other pc unless I have the connection set to unsecure. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can rectify this?
bal00
What kind of encryption are you trying to use, and what do you mean by 'pick up'? It doesn't appear in the list of available wifi networks? Is the router set to broadcast its SSID? Some info about your hardware and OS would be nice, too.
Carm
make sure the password is put in properly! I had this problem with my speedport 100, two nights of techs helping me, and it was the password without the hyphen in it that messed me up.
elsie2009
Sorry I am not very technical, the router is a speedport 500v w, I am using Windows XP. I would like the router secure so that no-one else can use my connection.

The router is set to broadcast the SSID. However my other pc (using d-link) can pick up the network but cannot connect, and my laptop cannot find it. I have the "Bitte konfigurieren Sie zu Ihrer Sicherheit die Verschlüsselung !" set to WPA/WPA2 with pre-shared key.
Scorpios777
Hello, I currently have my pc's hooked up to a speedport w 500V which runs through a netgear fast ethernet switch to pc's that are connected by cable.
I recentloy got a cell phone with wifi and wanted to use the speedport's WLAN to surf the net from my phone. - I opened the settings for the speedport and switched the WLAN settings to "ein" and the WLAN light comes on on the speedport but my phone is not detecting any WLAN connection.

If anyone knows what I need to do to get this working, that would be a great help.

Thanks.
YorkshireLad6
If I recall correctly, the W500V sets the wireless SSID (the WLAN identifier) by default to "hidden", so unless you know the SSID value you can't connect to it. You need to re-set it to be visible to see and connect to the router
Scorpios777