Craft stores for knitting and jewelry making - Munich

Nice shops, and where to buy supplies

Pages: 1 2

hilaryf
I am new to Munich, and am having some difficulties finding a few things due to the fact that I currently speak very little German.

I know this might sound lame - but...

1) Where are there some nice craft stores? I don't have anything specific in mind, but I like to knit, make jewelry, and...whatever else. Really, I like to just go to craft stores and buy a ton of supplies and never actually do anything with them. I have been to Ludwig-Beck for yarn, but I would rather go to a place where I can find supplies for multiple different projects. Any suggestions?

3) Are there any nice shops in Munich that would appeal to someone with crafty tendencies? Oh yes, it might help to include the fact that I am in my early twenties. I'm not really looking for quilts and silk flowers (although they are great, don't get me wrong).

2) I just finished design school in the states, and now I desperately need to finish up my (digital) portfolio. I suppose I am just too used to a university environment and having work nights with friends, and I'm having a difficult time finding motivation without this environment. Are there perhaps any other digital-based designers out there that get together for nerdy mac night? or writers? or...gamers or whatever?

Okay, I suppose that's all for now.

Thank you!

-Hilary
SuzanneK
Kunst und Spiel

I love "Kunst und Spiel" in Leopoldstraße 48 (U-Bahn Giselastraße), they sell all kinds of crafty stuff. Please check out their website to get an impression about what kind of store it is.

Another idea would be Kautbullinger somewhere near Marienplatz, Rosenstraße 8. It's more for different kinds of pens, paints and papers.
Jack
Creative Store
Rosenheimer Straße 30
alala