Which is the best city in Germany?

Advice for a Brit thinking of moving

Pages: 1 2 3

darsker
Hi

I am an IT professional currently living in the UK.
I am considering a move to Germany within the next few months but I am unsure what city would be best to move to. I am planning to go and visit a couple of German cities next month. Any suggestions? I had been givin Düsseldorf, Cologne, Frankfurt and Munich as a good set to visit but have heard mixed reports about some of them. Can anyone shed any light?

Thanks
Darren
Johnny English
Munich is the most liveable city in the world
NOFXmike
...of course the majority of TT'ers live in or near Munich, so we're a bit biased...though I do like this area more than any other in Germany...and I have traveled the country extensively. However, none of them are horrible places. It all depends on what you want, visit first.
Small Town Boy
If you're in IT, Munich is likely to have the best job opportunities. It's relatively expensive for Germany, but still laughable compared to Britain.
Bipa
Hmm... kinda depends on what your definition of "best" could be. If you like city living then sure, Munich is great. If you have no German language skills and don't want to fully integrate into German society then of course you should stick with the largest cities where there are big expat populations. If you're a country boy at heart and would prefer having a little elbow room, or want a larger place with a garden, then a city like Munich might not be affordable and you might want to look at other, smaller places like Stuttgart or even the Reutlingen/Tübingen area which also have many IT possibilities.