Getting a motorcycle license in Germany

Info on costs, number of lessons required, etc.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

LottaRaty
I have a regular european B-driver's license, and I've been dreaming of getting a motorbike A-license for quite a few years now. Does anyone have experience on this? How many lessons do you have to take at a fahrschule, what about theory lessons? Is it possible to take the theory test in english?

And the most important question: how much does it cost? Back home it'd cost me maybe 600e, probably a little less. It doesn't seem likely that I'm going back home for more than a week in quite a while though, that's why I'd like to do it here. I reckon I'd pass the test with minimum driving lessons, I know the basics and have driven on private roads, just have to get the touch.

BTW, I live in Munich, if anyone can recommend a good and cheap Fahrschule, it'd be awesome!

Thanks...
Yeti
If you can get it done back home do so, it will cost you at least a 1,500 here.

It is possible to take theory in English and probably the practical too.

In Germany there are minimum requirements on the number of hours you have to take so you have to do and pay for those, regardless of your standard. this is what keeps your basic cost up. I'll look it up later and post tonight.
Darkknight
Is it even possible to xfer a foreign Motorcycle license over to a german one? (Non-EU License only)
Usually anything that requires special training beyond that of a normal car license (Bus,Truck,Motorcycle) will not be converted to the German system
and requires you to complete the entire training of such a vehicle in the normal German driving schools. I went thru the same process back in 1998
when they wouldn't let me xfer my truck classes over to the German system. Good thing my training was covered by my Uncle Sam.

Update:
Just talked to my Military friend. The Germans will not allow you to xfer your foreign (non-EU) Motorcycle class to a German license.