What do the Germans really think of the British?

Journalist requesting input for Sunday Times essay

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

maximumjoy
Dear All

I am a journalist (www.rjsj.demon.co.uk) writing an essay for the Sunday Times magazine in London on what the Germans make of the British. What do they think of our sense of humour? The Great Escape theme at football matches? Our obsession with the war? Any pointers? Any stories that I simply must include?

Many many thanks for your help,

Best wishes,
Richard Johnson
Nicole
Why not ask them Germans in London Forum
antistar
I find the Germans don't mind discussing the war, as long as I am sensitive about it. They do think we obsess about it, and I think they'd rather forget all about it, which is totally understandable. From the perspective of a British tourist, however, it means that it is hard to see all those cool World War II things you know about from movies, because the Germans tend to hide them away, and try and get you interested in all those other thousands of years of German history. Unfortunately the tour of the Wittelsbacher family home doesn't compare to Hitler's bunker.

When you want to go to places like Colditz and the Nuremberg Rally Grounds, it can be hard to find where they are or get to them, even though they still exist. Colditz Castle is stuck out in a little village near Leipzig and requires two bus journeys to get there. In Nuremberg the tourist office has nothing on its Nazi history, except for a tiny black and white booklet obliquely entitled "Germany 1933-1945". They seem more interested in pushing the Toy Museum and Business Tower than the Zeppelin Stadium and Courtroom 606.